White-nose syndrome map

Updated white-nose syndrome map April 8, 2018

Reflects the following:

Two additional counties in the Texas panhandle and two counties in Central Texas have tested positive for the fungus that causes white-nose syndrome. Samples were collected this past winter The fungus was detected on cave bats, tri-colored bats, Townsend’s big-eared bats, and a single Mexican free-tailed bat. These findings are the results of ongoing studies by University of Santa Cruz with partners at Texas A&M University and Bat Conservation International.

The fungus was found in Blanco, Foard, Kendall and Wheeler Counties.